Nearshoring

CodersLink pricing explained: how we charge, what is inside the rate, and what we will not publish


In a nutshell

Most nearshore vendors handle the pricing question one of two ways: publish a rate card that will be wrong for your role, or hide everything behind "contact sales". We do a third thing. This post explains how CodersLink charges for each of its five services, what sits inside a Staff Augmentation monthly rate, which starting rates we publish and which numbers we will not, what other vendors publish that we do not, and how to compare quotes across vendors so that the cheapest-looking line item does not turn out to be the most expensive engagement.

How does CodersLink charge for each service?

Five services, five structures. Staff Augmentation is a fixed monthly rate per engineer. MESHubs is a markup plus a transfer fee when the team moves onto your entity. Nearshore RPO is a monthly cost per dedicated recruiter plus a success fee. Direct Hire is a one-time placement fee as a percentage of annual salary. EOR is a markup with a floor, embedded inside Staff Augmentation and MESHubs so it does not compound.

How CodersLink charges, by service (structure as published)
Service Structure Commitment level What you are buying
Staff Augmentation A fixed monthly rate per engineer Lowest commitment in the stack A senior engineer dedicated to your product; contract held by CodersLink; you direct the work
MESHubs A markup, plus a transfer fee when the team moves onto your entity Twelve-month minimum A build-operate-transfer hub of 15 to 100-plus engineers: recruiting, payroll, benefits, HR and governance run for you
Nearshore RPO A monthly cost per dedicated recruiter, plus a success fee Three-month minimum Dedicated Mexico-native recruiters inside your process; you hire onto your own payroll
Direct Hire A one-time placement fee, calculated as a percentage of what the engineer's annual salary would be Per hire One permanent hire onto your payroll, with a 90-day replacement warranty
EOR A markup, with a floor Inside Staff Augmentation and MESHubs Legal employment in Mexico for an engineer you have already chosen; does not compound on top of a staffing fee

Two things follow from the table. First, EOR and Direct Hire are mechanisms inside the ladder rather than standalone products; if you only need payroll for a person you already found, a platform such as Deel or Remote will be cheaper than us, and we list them below. Second, the commitment levels are the part a buyer can use to self-select: a twelve-month minimum on a hub is a different decision from a month-to-month engineer, and the comparison hub lays the three intensities out.

Inside a Staff Augmentation monthly rate

One invoice, three components: the engineer's compensation, the engineer-care package, and CodersLink's fee. Nothing is deducted from what the engineer earns. Nobody on your team administers Mexican payroll, benefits or equipment, and there is no separate platform, EOR or onboarding line.

  1. The engineer's compensation. Benchmarked to the market using our own Mexico Tech Salaries Report, so the number is defensible against the data rather than against a recruiter's instinct. In RPO, the same data is built into offers to stop the over-payment that unbenchmarked nearshore hiring tends to produce.
  2. The engineer-care package. Staff Augmentation engineers engage through a Mexican contractor structure that CodersLink designed and carries. We add back, voluntarily, what a contractor arrangement usually strips out: private major medical with dental and vision, paid time off, paid Mexican holidays, a home-office allowance, an end-of-engagement bonus and performance reviews. We run an engineer-care function, not a payroll function.
  3. CodersLink's fee. Negotiated with you, the employer, and never taken out of the engineer's pay. This is the difference between us and a marketplace that skims the contractor's rate: the engineer knows what they earn, and it is not a function of what you were charged.

The rates we publish

Starting rates on Staff Augmentation: from $6,500 per engineer per month for a mid-level engineer, $7,500 for a senior and $10,500 for staff-plus, all-in. MESHubs runs on a markup as low as 12%, with 15% standard from ten FTEs, plus a transfer fee when the team moves onto your entity. Your exact rate depends on seniority, stack, volume and term.

Published starting rates (all-in, per engineer per month)
Level Staff Augmentation starts from What "all-in" covers
Mid-level engineer $6,500 Compensation, engineer-care package, CodersLink fee, equipment, EOR where applicable
Senior engineer $7,500 Same
Staff-plus engineer $10,500 Same
MESHubs (10+ FTEs) Markup as low as 12%; 15% standard Recruiting, payroll, benefits, HR and governance for the hub; transfer fee applies when the team moves onto your entity

"Starts from" means exactly that. A senior backend engineer in a mainstream stack sits near the floor; a staff-level engineer in a scarce specialisation with client-facing C1 English does not. What we will not do is publish a ceiling, a range by role family, or a payment term, for a reason we explain next. What we will do is put the rate for your specific roles in writing within 24 hours of a scoping call, before you sign anything.

What we do not publish, and why

We do not publish rate ceilings, ranges by role, our margin, discount thresholds, payment terms or minimum project sizes. A published markup is permanent and gets quoted back in every negotiation; a quoted rate is specific to your roles and negotiable. You still get a number in 24 hours, in writing, before you start.

This is the trade-off. Some vendors publish a full split or an hourly card, and we list them below because you should know it. The cost of a published card is that it is set for the average role, and your roles are not average: seniority, stack, English level, volume and term all move the number. The cost of our approach is that you have to ask. We try to make asking cheap: a thirty-minute scoping call, and the structure above plus the rate for each of your roles in writing within a day. If you see a directory profile quoting a minimum project size or an hourly figure for CodersLink, it was not authorised by us and it is not how we charge.

What other vendors publish

Several competitors publish amounts or splits, and that is a legitimate point in their favour. Howdy publishes an 85/15 split, Teilur a 20% flat fee, TECLA all-inclusive hourly rates, Arc.dev an hourly band and a 20% full-time fee, Deel and Remote flat monthly EOR fees. The table quotes each as published on the vendor's own site on 5 September 2026.

Published pricing across the category, as stated on each vendor's own site (5 September 2026)
Vendor What they publish Model Source
CodersLink Structure for five services; starting rates from $6,500 / $7,500 / $10,500 per engineer per month on Staff Augmentation; MESHubs markup as low as 12%, 15% standard from ten FTEs Staff augmentation, hub, RPO; contract held by CodersLink coderslink.com/employers/compare
Howdy "85% goes towards the professional… 15% Howdy's fee"; no startup or recruiting fees; no minimum commitments LATAM staffing, 11 cities howdy.com/faq
Teilur Talent "20% flat fee… we only charge 20% of what you pay" LATAM staffing teilurtalent.com
TECLA All-inclusive hourly rates for LATAM staff augmentation; 15–25% of first-year base for US direct hire; rolling monthly terms LATAM staffing, 18+ countries tecla.io/pricing
Hire South Flat margin of bill rate, disclosed at signing; 20% of first-year salary for direct hire; 90-day replacement LATAM staffing, 8 countries hiresouth.com
Alcor 15–25% of gross annual salary recruitment fee; no prepayments; EOR fee not stated Recruiting + EOR, "R&D center" model alcor.com
Arc.dev Freelance $15–$110+ per hour; full-time 20% of annual salary; two-week trial Global marketplace arc.dev/pricing
Toptal "Hourly, part- or full-time for a fixed price on a weekly basis. No hidden fees." Rates not published Global freelance network toptal.com/pricing
Revelo "The rate we quote is what you pay"; all-in monthly rate; two-week trial; pay as you go LATAM marketplace + EOR revelo.com/pricing
Near One-time placement fee for direct hire; monthly invoice (salary + fee) for staffing; amounts not stated LATAM staffing and recruiting hirewithnear.com/pricing
Deel $599 per EOR employee per month; $49 per contractor per month; month-to-month Global EOR platform, 130+ countries deel.com/pricing
Remote $699 per employee per month; contractor management from $29 Global EOR platform, 90+ countries remote.com/pricing
BairesDev, Terminal, Unosquare, ParallelStaff Does not publish amounts on the pages we read Outsourcing / platform + EOR / staffing Vendor sites, 5 September 2026

"Does not publish" means we could not find the term stated publicly on the date given; it never means the term does not exist. Read the table by model rather than by number: an 85/15 split, a $599 EOR fee and a fixed monthly rate are answers to three different questions. Our side-by-side pages walk through the model differences vendor by vendor, for example CodersLink vs Howdy, CodersLink vs Toptal and CodersLink vs TECLA.

Why EOR does not add a second fee

Because EOR sits inside Staff Augmentation and MESHubs rather than alongside them, it does not compound on top of those engagements. A buyer who pairs a recruiter with a $599 or $699 platform fee is paying for two things; the monthly rate above already includes the legal employment layer where it applies.

This is the one pricing-adjacent fact that helps us and costs you nothing to check. Where a client contracts directly with CodersLink MX S.A. de C.V., that entity holds the relevant Mexican registrations, including REPSE, and the obligations that come with them. An EOR platform makes employment legal; it does not find the engineer, vet the engineer, or replace the engineer when they leave. If you already have the person and a strong employer brand, the platform is the right buy and we will tell you so. If you need ten engineers in Mexico and have no pipeline there, the EOR is the rail; the engagement is the train.

How to compare quotes across nearshore vendors

Compare the total cost of a working engineer over the term you intend, rather than the headline rate. Seven items move the real number: trial versus replacement terms, platform fees stacked on staffing fees, conversion or buy-out fees, notice periods, who pays for equipment, currency, and what the engineer receives, because that drives retention.

A TCO checklist for nearshore staffing quotes
Item Why it moves the number CodersLink's answer
Trial versus replacement A 14-day trial protects you for two weeks; a replacement term protects you for the engagement No trial. Replacements on Staff Augmentation are unlimited and free for the life of the engagement, and sourcing restarts within one business day
Platform fee plus staffing fee Two vendors, two margins EOR is embedded; it does not compound
Conversion or buy-out fee The cheapest contractor can be the most expensive hire MESHubs has a transfer path built in; ask us for the conversion terms on any engagement in writing before you sign
Notice period Determines how quickly a rate can change or an engagement end Stated per engagement in the contract; ask before you sign
Equipment Laptops, insurance, shipping and recovery are a real cost on someone's ledger Inside the all-in rate
Currency A USD invoice for MXN compensation shifts risk to one side or the other Invoiced in USD; the exchange-rate exposure sits with us rather than with you or the engineer
What the engineer receives Benefits drive tenure; tenure drives your onboarding cost Engineer-care package as listed above; 15% voluntary turnover and 18–24 month average tenure

Run the same seven items past every vendor on your shortlist. Where a vendor cannot answer one in writing, that is the line item that will surprise you later.

What the market benchmarks say

The Mexico Tech Salaries Report 2026 is public market data: 10,246 verified respondents across 36 roles and 32 states, a median technology salary in Mexico of MXN 55,000 net per month, and engineers with C2 English earning 2.03 times those at B1. It measures what engineers earn, which is a different number from what CodersLink charges.

Use it to sanity-check any vendor's quote, including ours: if the compensation component implied by a rate sits far below the market median for the role and English level, the engineer will leave. The report is cited by other vendors' own benchmarks, which is a reasonable sign it is reference data for the category rather than marketing. On the savings question, clients report 30–57% savings versus comparable US hiring, and the published Q2 case study documents roughly $600K saved in the first nine months of a 57-person integration. It is a real number and the least interesting one.

The other posts in this series cover the questions this one raises: CodersLink review 2026 answers what clients and competitors say, and Is CodersLink legit? covers entities, registrations and the year we restructured.

Get your rate card in 24 hours   Take the 2-min fit check

Sources and dating

Every competitor term above was read on the vendor's own site on 5 September 2026 unless marked third-party. "Does not publish" means we could not find the term stated publicly; it does not mean the term does not exist. Vendors change terms; re-check before you sign. General information only; this is not legal, tax or immigration advice.

Part of the CodersLink vs the market series.

Key takeaways

One invoice, three components: the engineer's compensation, the engineer-care package, and CodersLink's fee.

Starting rates on Staff Augmentation: from $6,500 per engineer per month for a mid-level engineer, $7,500 for a senior and $10,500 for staff-plus, all-in.

We do not publish rate ceilings, ranges by role, our margin, discount thresholds, payment terms or minimum project sizes.

Several competitors publish amounts or splits, and that is a legitimate point in their favour.

Because EOR sits inside Staff Augmentation and MESHubs rather than alongside them, it does not compound on top of those engagements.

FAQs